FDP Home Page / FDP Forum / FAQ's

The FDP is made possible by the following companies and individual members like you.
Please use the links below to show them we value their sponsorship.

MOD KITS DIY

Yellowjackets Tube Converters

Musician's Friend

Jensen Loudspeakers

Antique Electronics Supply

Apex Tube Matching

WD Music

Amplified Parts

Sweetwater

Guitar Center

Advertise here


* God bless America and our men and women in uniform *

* Illegitimi non carborundum! *

If you benefit and learn from the FDP and enjoy our site, please help support us and become a Contributing Member or make a Donation today! The FDP counts on YOU to help keep the site going with an annual contribution. It's quick and easy with PayPal. Please do it TODAY!

Chris Greene, Host & Founder

LOST YOUR PASSWORD?

......................................................................

   
FDP Jam
Calendar
Find musicians
in your area!
  Search the Forums  

FDP Forum / Home Recording Forum / Eleven Rack anyone?

Next 20 Messages  
ninworks
Contributing Member
**

Tennessee

Too Much GAS
Sep 6th, 2015 07:43 AM   Edit   Profile  

Has anyone here had any experience with AVID's Eleven Rack guitar/amp modeler/audio interface for Pro Tools? I am going to upgrade my computer so I'll need a newer version of Pro Tools anyway. The Eleven Rack comes with Pro Tools and the hardware unit. I'm still using version 8LE with my old computer and I'm certain that it won't work with Windows 8 or 10.

According to some people online the Eleven Rack is a nice piece of hardware but I want to make sure it's not all just marketing hype. It's been out for a few years now so if there were any bugs in the original design maybe they have worked them out by now. They must be selling or I'd think they would have discontinued them by now.

My old Digitech modelers still work but some of the buttons are getting intermittent and the amp modeling technology has to be better now than it was when those came out. The Eleven Rack modeler systems are considerably more expensive than the Digitech units but if they are a far superior unit then they would be worth the difference to me.

littleuch
Contributing Member
**********
**

Florida

Stale bread and flea circuses
Sep 6th, 2015 08:27 AM   Edit   Profile  

Ken, I have it as part of my PT 10 package. I honestly haven't used it a lot and have had more short falls than success when I did. I think much is user error.

Also, I have the software version, no hardware involved other than my Mbox interface.

(This message was last edited by littleuch at 10:42 AM, Sep 6th, 2015)

ninworks
Contributing Member
**

Tennessee

Too Much GAS
Sep 6th, 2015 09:15 AM   Edit   Profile  

Thanks Larry. I have a lot of modeler experience going all the way back to the first PODs so tweaking it shouldn't be a problem once I get familiar with the user interface. I also have the Eleven Rack plug-in version but have yet to use it. The latency with my Mbox Pro is not bad but bad enough where I can't use the plug-in in real time due to the delay factor so I didn't see any reason to mess with it when the Digitech's worked so well.

I emailed my Sweetwater rep today asking if they still had any with Pro Tools 11 in stock. Pro Tools 12 is what they have listed on their site. The problem with PT 12 is that it requires annual licensing. PT 11 does not. I talked to the rep a few weeks ago and he said that at that time they still had a lot of them with PT 11. If I remember correctly the ones that come with PT 11 also have 10 and 12 as well. I'll have to wait and see what they have. I would imagine they are closed for the holiday weekend.

ninworks
Contributing Member
**

Tennessee

Too Much GAS
Sep 20th, 2015 07:28 PM   Edit   Profile  

I got the Eleven Rack and have had a few days to mess with it. The sounds are a much higher sound quality than my old Digitech GNX-3's. It actually feels like a real amp when you play it. The input sensitivity is there and when you turn down the volume on the guitar it cleans up like a real amp. I have been playing the Digitech's for so long that it's going to take me awhile to get used to that "amp" feeling again.

The factory sounds are surprisingly good compared to just about every other effects device I have ever used. I just got into editing some programs today after reading up on how to access some of the parameters. It's actually pretty simple once you figure out how they use the buttons and knobs on the panel. I'm never completely satisfied with any stock sounds and always have to fiddle with them to get it how I want.

There is no pitch shifter in it though. Not a big deal but there are times when I wanna get weird and that helps a lot. There is an effects loop in the unit so I could patch one in if I wanted to.

One feature that is absolutely the best idea I have seen in modelers is that you can move things around in the signal chain inside the unit. You can put the effects in whatever order you want either before or after the amp and cabinet modeling. I know I'm going to use that feature a lot.

So far I like it. I just need to get used to playing on it.

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

When I sin

I sin real good
Sep 21st, 2015 01:46 AM   Edit   Profile  

Yep, those are pretty standard features these days (internal movement/chains/etc).

Modeling stuff has come a LONG way since that GMX3.

littleuch
Contributing Member
**********
**

Florida

Stale bread and flea circuses
Sep 21st, 2015 06:41 AM   Edit   Profile  

Sounds very cool. I'm curious though, looking at Sweetwater it appears you can only get it bundled. What if you already have, say, Pro Tools 10 and just want the hardware?

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

When I sin

I sin real good
Sep 21st, 2015 11:47 AM   Edit   Profile  

Call SW and ask?

ninworks
Contributing Member
**

Tennessee

Too Much GAS
Sep 21st, 2015 06:51 PM   Edit   Profile  

You CAN get just the hardware and it will save you a couple hundred bucks. They are all over Ebay.

Sweetwater can help you out as well. That's who I got mine from and they were, as always, very helpful. The thing about dealing with Sweetwater is their customer support is second to none. I have bought many things from them over the years and I have been very pleased with the experience every single time.

littleuch
Contributing Member
**********
*******

Florida

Jul 4th, 2018 04:15 PM   Edit   Profile  

So I see these are on sale at Sweetwater, probably been discontinued. How's everybody liking theirs so far? Rob, that's your review on Sweetwater, right? How would you rate this against the GT-001?

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

We all want

our time in hell
Jul 4th, 2018 06:01 PM   Edit   Profile  

Yea, I grabbed one when they hit $299 with the 24 mo financing for the hell of it.

Versus the 001, it has obviously different takes on the amp models - I can get both units to pass my modeler Turing Test, where I forget I'm using (good) cans while playing and check that the monitors/amp aren't cranked too high at 3 a.m.

That said, it's pretty much JUST the amp models and verb. Effects options are pretty chintzy - they work, but..there aren't many there and options are limited.

Biggest thing it has over the 001 is the stereo option (and stereo FX loop), plus form factor. The Marshall and tweed models (not surprising given the shared heritage) are noteworthy good, the BF Fender stuff is missing..something. They're usable, but...

Be aware the PC app can be a bear to install and get working (and for the current prices, buy new for the support, which even I used!)

Basically, it's at this point the king of the cheap (as long as they last, anyway) rackmount options. It's easy to adjust the thing via the front panel controls (which is what I did once I got the basic patches set up I wanted for baseline).

Keep in mind also I'm *just* using it for the hardware unit (not DAW interface).

I'm happy but I'll admit I kept the box around longer than usual.

littleuch
Contributing Member
**********
*******

Florida

Jul 5th, 2018 08:29 AM   Edit   Profile  

Thanks for the run down, Rob. My app would be running it with Pro Tools 10 in Windows. I see all kinds of Eleven Rack templates already built in so don't think I'd have any compatibility issues. I almost always never print time based effects to track and save that for mixing. Your trepidation about the blackface thing gives me pause as I haven't found that sweet spot in the GT-001 yet. Actually when I listen to my old POD 2.0 recordings I kinda wish I hadn't sold it.

A rackmount unit would be nice as my work space is pretty much a cramped and tangled mess. My rack unit is currently employing only a Furman power strip and an unused Focusrite Twintrak. On the other hand I'm weary of "feature paralysis" and don't want to be overwhelmed by yet another piece of gear. Maybe I'll just buy a Squier Thinline Deluxe, lol.

(This message was last edited by littleuch at 10:30 AM, Jul 5th, 2018)

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

We all want

our time in hell
Jul 5th, 2018 09:10 AM   Edit   Profile  

Keep in mind I haven't dug looking for the BF sound much (as I have that covered in the GT and Mustang V and HRD in house already!).

As far as size goes and whatnot, be aware it's a FULL 2U size unit, depth and all, it's not one of the half-or-less deep units that most modern stuff seems to be.

If you're already using PT, though, I'd grab one at the price they're going for - see how you like it, if not send it back.

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

We all want

our time in hell
Jul 5th, 2018 09:12 AM   Edit   Profile  

I should note that the thing also apparently treats the rack like a plugin in PT from what the manual says at least in terms of control/taking note of things.

And you can dedicate one of the outs as a dry track if you want (as well as a digital dry), and re-amp through those saved settings.

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

We all want

our time in hell
Jul 7th, 2018 03:38 AM   Edit   Profile  

And just for you, I dug through the Sweetwater patches (which include a bunch of baseline 'this is the amp' patches like the Mustang series, which was wise!)....

I was able to get credible BF Champ and Deluxe quickly (I have a ton of recordings from back in the day to compare to versus the actual, which is my usual dial-in point, as well as the BF Bassman). Bassman I couldn't quite get there, but I used a small homebrew closed-back 1x15 JBL that was particularly bright most of the time and I've yet to get a modeler that does *that* config right, but....it certainly can check the basic boxes.



ninworks
Contributing Member
*******

Tennessee

Too Much GAS
Jul 7th, 2018 05:10 AM   Edit   Profile  

After having my Eleven Rack for a couple of years I can say that I am impressed with what it can do. I'm not as much about trying to make it sound exactly like a particular, real, amp, as I am about just getting quality sounds that respond to the touch how I like it to and get the sound that fits into what ever track I'm working with.

I have about 5 sounds that I have tweaked that I use most often. I record guitars and bass for a couple of friends that send me tracks occasionally and find myself scrolling through the sounds to find something that sits well in the track. I will find something that's close to what I want and then tweak it to taste.

This is one of a very few electronic sound generating devices, whether it be a signal processor or synth, that most of the presets sound very good. I would estimate about 80% are very good and of those a lot of them are excellent. Something I HAVE found is that even the ones that don't sound as good as I would have wanted them to, sound from better to great when playing different guitars through them. That gives me a very versatile selection of sounds to mix together.

Unlike my old Digitech GNX-3 modelers I can record multiple tracks of different sounds using different guitars and get some excellent blends and sound variations that work together well when tracking. The Digitech unit would not do that. It seemed that, with it, multitracking guitars using that unit turned things to mush and there was little to no separation between the tracks no matter how I tweaked the patches.

The Eleven Rack is also an A/D - D/A converter that works seamlessly with Pro Tools. The only drawback I can see is recording at higher sample rates, above 96kHz, is not possible. Even at that rate there are some hoops to jump through. It's an AVID thing. I am using Pro Tools 11 and there are sample rate limitations there as well but, there are workarounds that will get it done. I usually record at 44.1kHz anyway so it hasn't been an issue.

I just got a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 and one of these days I am going to do a project at 192kHz just because I never have and I'm curious to see if I can distinguish a difference from 44.1k.

littleuch
Contributing Member
**********
*******

Florida

Jul 7th, 2018 06:21 AM   Edit   Profile  

Thanks for the replies gents, I went ahead and pushed an order through. One can never have too many pretty rectangular boxes in their studio in this day of virtual hardware.

ninworks
Contributing Member
*******

Tennessee

Too Much GAS
Jul 7th, 2018 06:36 AM   Edit   Profile  

Oh, I forgot to mention, it has a blinking light on the front as well. :o)

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

We all want

our time in hell
Jul 8th, 2018 06:46 AM   Edit   Profile  

And have them email the artist presets/amp preset pack to you, it's not on the site any more but they still have it and it works (and you can upload one at a time if you just want to check them out!)

littleuch
Contributing Member
**********
*******

Florida

Jul 12th, 2018 04:55 PM   Edit   Profile  

Received and installed today. I just had time to do a quick fly through the presets, we shall see. Ken, do you have the stand alone editor installed as well? I see all functionality in PT but think it would make sense to have the editor loaded to make off line tweaks, etc.

One thing I do wish is that this thing had a mute button so I didn't have to shutdown my powered monitors first before powering off the 11 rack. POP! Oy!

(This message was last edited by littleuch at 07:05 PM, Jul 12th, 2018)

reverendrob
FDP Data Goon
Moderator

We all want

our time in hell
Jul 12th, 2018 07:22 PM   Edit   Profile  

Does turning the volume knob help?

(I don't have my monitors directly connected, so...)

Also: there's a mute button in the editor, and *might* be in the system settings somewhere.

(This message was last edited by reverendrob at 09:23 PM, Jul 12th, 2018)

Next 20 Messages  

FDP Forum / Home Recording Forum / Eleven Rack anyone?




Reply to this Topic
Display my email address             Lost your password?
Your Message:
Link Address (URL):
Link Title:




Moderators: Chris Greene  Iron Man  reverendrob  

FDP, LLC Privacy Policy: Your real name, username, and email
are held in confidence and not disclosed to any third parties, sold, or
used for anything other than FDP Forum registration unless you specifically authorize disclosure.

Furtkamp.com 
Internet Application Development

Copyright © 1999-2018 Fender Discussion Page, LLC   All Rights Reserved